Smartphone Battery – Tips & Myths

The earthquake in Ecuador reminds all of us how important having a smartphone can be.  Right next to my smartphone is a portable battery so if I left the house in an emergency I would have a minimum of 4 days of battery life.

First 3 myths:

  • Leaving the smartphone on the charger all night is bad for your battery
  • You should completely discharge your battery before charging
  • Never use your phone while it is charging

Now 3 tips

  • Dim the screen
  • Minimize push notifications
  • Download the latest software update

The complete article on smartphone battery myths is here

The complete article on smartphone tips is here

Cellphone-smartphone-workout-battery-life_jpg__600×400_

3 thoughts on “Smartphone Battery – Tips & Myths

  1. Hi again, Lenny,

    I don’t wish to presume on your time. It is just that I met up with an impasse I can’t seem to get an answer to. I am ready to purchase the Nexus 6 unlocked 64 GB, after your good review and others I checked out, but, after watching one video someone commented about the “International” one and the “U.S.” one, which was the first time I had seen that anywhere. ​

    Should I specifically look for only the one that states “International”?

    I will be using it in Ecuador (although purchasing from Amazon to be delivered to my U.S. address. I won’t have another phone with me when I go to the U.S. in May.)

    One phone I saw was listed as “in the sealed box.” So, perhaps someone returned it to the seller. The sim card tool seems necessary so I don’t have to slice and dice a micro size. Does the little sim fit into a sort of ‘case’ and then is to be inserted in the proper slot? I have Claro as my carrier here in Ecuador.

    I would be very grateful if you could enlighten me so I make the right choice. I’m stuck for getting the right info as a phone newbie, of sorts.

    Thank you so much,

    Elaine Ness Macas

    On Sun, Apr 24, 2016 at 3:38 PM, Cuenca Tech Life wrote:

    > cuencatechlife posted: “The earthquake in Ecuador reminds all of us how > important having a smartphone can be. Right next to my smartphone is a > portable battery so if I left the house in an emergency I would have a > minimum of 4 day of battery life. First 3 myths: Leaving” >

  2. Lenny, I appreciated that you posted my question but it appears only you can answer it. I have a Nokia 6 unlocked 64 GB phone waiting in my Amazon cart but I am not sure if I should be buying the international or U.S. version. The answer may seem obvious, given I will be using it in Ecuador, but I simply need confirmation.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

