Tablet, Phablet or Smartphone

I have a confession to make. Ever since I acquired the Nexus 5 Phone and the iPad Mini Retina I only use my Macbook for photo and video editing. Several days can go by without opening my computer. The tablet and smartphone are too powerful and portable to drag my notebook computer around. Tablets and smartphones have become more powerful and cheaper in the last year. Recently I read a quote that an iPhone 6 has more storage and computing power than President Bill Clinton had when he was President.

You can also purchase a Phablet like the Nexus 6 or the iPhone 6+ which is a smartphone with a large screen and a fast processor. The Nexus 6 has a 6 inch screen thus making watching HD Video a reality.

A new Nexus 7 tablet is now less than $200 and the iPad Mini is $249. Expect to pay $749 for a contract free iPhone 6+ and $649 for a Nexus 6. A Nexus 5 Smartphone ( I own this one ) is a great bargain at $349

My Day With My Nexus 5 and iPad Mini

My iPad is on my nightstand. I often look at email and notifications before I get dressed. I take my espresso and iPad into the Sun Room and answer email, Facebook messages and Blog comments.

On my walk into town I am listening to several podcasts on my smartphone. – Marketplace, Fresh Air, This American Life.

I stop off at a local Internet Cafe and take out my ipad Mini to answer email and play Contract Bridge on Bridge I sometimes Skype with friends and family

On my walk back home I will listen to Books On Tape or Amazon Music.

Later in the evening I will watch a movie on the iPad using  Netflix or Amazon Prime and finishing off the day with reading on my Kindle App.



2 thoughts on “Tablet, Phablet or Smartphone

  1. I bought a new iMac, thinking if I had it on the desk right in front of me, I’d use it more than my iPad while at home. What I’ve found is that my iPad is still my #1 go to product. It’s just so easy to use! I use my iPhone primarily for calls or to catch up on news when I don’t have my iPad with, but the iPad is clearly the winner for me.

  2. Pingback: Tablet, Phablet, Smartphone 2015 | Cuenca Tech Life

Leave a Reply

