Sunday Morning- What’s On TV In Ecuador?

When I lived in Oregon there was a routine for watching LIVE TV on a Sunday Morning. First it was CBS Sunday Morning with Charles OsGood followed by NBC’s Meet The Press. Well now that I’m living in Cuenca the routine has changed but the content has only got richer.

Before I go any further I should say that I have two streaming media boxes (Roku & Apple TV) connected to a VPN router so that my presence on the Internet is somewhere in the U.S.

I start the morning off with CBS Sunday Morning. This Sunday there were two especially interesting stores.

  • Top Secret World War II POW housed in Alexandria Va.
  • The history of the Queen Mary Cruise Liner  and the role it played in WW II

The great part of viewing TV programs on the Streaming boxes is that I can go back several weeks and view  programs I may have missed.

After watching Meet The Press. I viewed the week’s new TED TALKS. TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). This week’s winners were:

  • Underground Parks in New York City
  • Children’s Literature
  • Amazon Rain Forest

The last two hours were devoted to watching the PBS Ken Burns Series “The Roosevelts”. An intimate story about Ted, Eleanor and Franklin Roosevelt.  I did not know that Ted was shot while making a speech and went on for an hour with a bullet in his chest.

I highly recommend owning a media box and a VPN in Ecuador. I discuss media boxes and VPN on my blog. You can conduct two different searches by using the terms “VPN” and “Roku”.




7 thoughts on “Sunday Morning- What’s On TV In Ecuador?

  1. Hi there! I have a small question, have you used the Netflix channel in your Roku without using a VPN? Mine is on its way and I wondered wether the VPN is a must have or if it’s possible to use the roku without it.

      • Well after some research and some try and error I can tell that yeah you need to set up a VPN or change the DNS in your router to set up the Roku and get Channels that are not available outside USA, but after that you can watch Netflix without any of the above, and you’ll just the content available for this region.

        So I guess that’s some useful information for those that want a Roku for Netflix playing and don’t care to get or not USA content, like me. So no other services required, no more subscriptions.

Leave a Reply

