Internet Speed, Wifi, VPN

In April I returned to Oregon for 2 weeks and was amazed at the ubiquity of WiFi in Portland. Besides WiFi being everywhere,  the speed of my Internet connection was much faster.  The very good news in Cuenca, Ecuador is that the Internet speed is getting faster, the cost for the connection is getting cheaper and there are more Wifi hot spots than ever before. Gringos Abroad just did a comprehensive review of Internet connections in Ecuador . First rate research and very accurate.

I can only speak of my Internet connections in Cuenca.  As mentioned in another section of this blog – there are 4 major providers – ETAPA, TV CABLE, PUNTONET AND CENTRONET. I  have used all 4 services and my #1 preference is TV CABLE.  Internet speed and connection is still a neighborhood by neighborhood issue.  Some buildings are not wired for TV CABLE and some ETAPA connections have very old wiring.  My suggestion for newcomers is to ask around and read the different forums and don’t be bashful to ask lots of questions.

For me, my Internet connection is my lifeline to my family and friends and fast dependable connections are a must. For a map of WiFi connections in Cuenca – Click here



6 thoughts on “Internet Speed, Wifi, VPN

  1. Larry, you convinced me along with some friends, to switch to TV Cable. A major improvement after struggling with Etapa and Punta Net. Etapa, both for quality of interconnectivity and quality of service is the absolute worse. Punta Net is way too expensive. I have friends who will kill me for writing this. They are not going to want everybody switching to TV Cable.

Leave a Reply

