How Many Printed Pages In a Petabyte?

I just read on the Internet Archive Blog that they are going to have a 10 Petabyte Party to celebrate their new plateau of material stored. (10,000,000,000,000,000 bytes)
Let’s put this in terms that most of us understand.
1 megabyte = 64,000 printed Microsoft word pages
1 gigabyte = 1000 megabytes
1 terabyte = 1000 gigabytes
1 petabyte = 1000 terabytes
As I’m writing this post I’m looking at my desk in my office and imagining how much space 10 petabytes takes up but I’m going to be generous and say it will consume the space of 3 desks. 10 petabytes of paper would probably need the Empire State Building to store.
Any readers have the answer to the number of printed pages in 10 Petabytes?
Bonus points if you can guess the 3 measurement beyond Petabytes

5 thoughts on “How Many Printed Pages In a Petabyte?

  1. 640 trillion, based on the numbers you posted.

    And the next three are easy PEZY — Peta, Exa, Zetta and Yotta.

    I don’t expect to be around when they reach a Yottabyte of storage (at least I hope I’m not around, because if I am, that means we have way, way, way too many websites on the internet.

  2. Pingback: Morning Update – Monday, October 15, 2012 « South of Zero

  3. Unfortunately, these are “real world” numbers. My son is in systems software for a large firm, whose servers accumulate over a terabyte of business data each month! Kinda scary, considering most of that gets printed multiple times, somewhere in the world.

  4. Pingback: What Comes After A Petabyte? | Cuenca Tech Life

Leave a Reply

