Cloud Services

According to Wikipedia “Cloud computing provides computation, software, data access, and storage resources without requiring cloud users to know the location and other details of the computing infrastructure.”

All of us use the cloud everyday when we send or read an email using Gmail, Yahoo or Hotmail. Cloud services have been around for more than a decade but are now coming into the mainstream because many of us are using Smartphones, IPads and notebooks as our sources of computing and we want to see our files, photos, music, videos on each device with no regard to geographic location.

I am presently living in Cuenca, Ecuador but my gmail may be stored anyplace in the world where Google has their server farms. I recently traveled to Oregon without my computer.  I could read my email, edit my photos and upadate my blog on several of my friend’s computers simply by signing into to my google account and accessing my stored data on the cloud.

I own a MacBook Air and an IPad.  Both of these great devices have limited solid state drives for storage.  I’m limited on the MBA to 256 GB and 32 GB on the IPad. I rely on Cloud Services to store my photos, videos and documents.

Listed below are free Cloud Services. I will review many of them in detail on future posts.

  • Google
  • Yahoo
  • ICloud
  • Dropbox
  • Box
  • Pogoplug
  • SkyDrive
  • Amazon

Leave a Reply

